Search This Blog

Saturday, June 23, 2012

Yuga Avatars

Yuga avatars:
Four yugas ( Ages ) which come in cycles: 
1] Satya yuga, lasting 1,728,000 years 
2] Treta yuga, lasting 1,296,000 years 
3] Dwapara yuga, lasting 864,000 years 
4] Kali yuga, lasting 432,000 years
In each of these yugas the Lord incarnates with a different body color according to the yuga.
 “Krishna appears as an incarnation in every millennium. In the past, He assumed three different colors - white, red and yellow - and now he has appeared in a blackish color.” 
In the Satya yug a white avatar appeared to Kardama muni to establish meditation as the process for self-realization.
In the Treta yug a red avatar appeared to Brahma to establish fire sacrifice as the process for self-realization.
In the Dvapara yug a dark avatar (Krishna) appeared as the son of Devaki to establish temple worship as the process for self-realization.
In the Kali yug a Yellow avatar appeared (Chaitanya Mahaprabhu) as the  son of Sachi Mata to establish the chanting of the holy names (nama-sankirtana) as the process for self-realization.

No comments:

Post a Comment